Best of luck

C and I attended a dinner last night at the ITC Maratha, at this restaurant, with his colleagues and some of their family. On being told that we are here for a year, one of the Mumbai guests (a warm and lovely curator) exclaimed ‘a year in Mumbai?’, and cheerfully raised her glass to me, saying ‘best of luck!’.

I drank a very salty, almost briny, sort of limeade with dinner.  Unfortunately I didn’t catch the name (I had what other people were having) but I think it was khatta mitta nimbu pani – although the drink I had seemed to have some kind of black, mineral salt in it.

Vegetarians and non-vegetarians were also demarcated with differently coloured napkins (green and red, respectively).

Leave a Reply

