Too soon

C and I went to the movies last night  at Phoenix Mall, to see Skyfall. On the way back out to the street, I saw a girl who must have been around 18 months-2 years old, and certainly still a toddler, wearing the hijab.

I first caught sight of her from a distance, and she was so small that for a second I thought she was a doll. She was still young enough to have that tottery baby walk. It crucifies me (no pun intended) that this baby isn’t allowed at the very least some respite in childhood from ideas of modesty and restriction. When did her parents get it for her? When she took her first step?

As Hawa, a friend wiser than I commented, it sexualises these pre-pubescent girls and prepares them for a lifetime of effacement.

Leave a Reply

